Take me back

image

Take me back, to what was once
A moss-veiled trail of green
Dark olive, mint, lime and charteuse
The shady glades had been.
Where slender limbs of hoary boughs
A hidden maze had stood
Above the leafy canopy had rose
The guardians of the woods.

Take me back, to what was once
A curvy jewel-blue stream
Like little diamonds on its surface
Its ripples had a sheen.
Jumping over rocks with joy
Its stride, it had a splash
While kindling it’s own symphony
Against the rocks it crashed.

Take me back, to what was once
A haven safe for birds
The colors, smells and beckoning sounds
Had wild beasts group in herds.
The luminous sky with snowflake stars
Like silver sprinkles shone
Screeching jays and scampering hares
This woody heaven, had ruled.

Take me back, my paradise calls
Its beauty comforts my heart
A sanctum, one with zero walls
Where silence speaks its part.
Days with golden light that falls
Nights face me with silver stars
Take me back, my paradise calls
Its just where I belong. 

5 thoughts on “Take me back

  1. Sam, you did it again!. Where do you get the inspiration from? I am glad you are using your time and talent to produce such wonderful poems and stories. Proud of you, baby.

Leave a Reply

