Prayer

“I am burdened with what the Buddhists call the ‘monkey mind’ – the thoughts that swing from limb to limb, stopping only to scratch themselves, spit and howl.”

~Elizabeth Gilbert

Prayer is our very own way of communicating our thoughts and intentions to the Universe. Doesn’t that mean that every thought that passes through our mind, even for a fleeting second, is a small prayer of its own? The rose bud that we watch blossom, the sunrise that we stop and admire, the family and friends that we love, the street dog that we wish had a home, are all thoughts that may cross our minds. Every such thought of love, gratitude, kindness and hope gets manifested into a prayer. The catch here, however, is that every thought of anger, hurt, guilt and fear also gets translated into a prayer. This is where arises the need to focus our thoughts on things that we wish to create and bring into our lives.

download

 My mother once told me, “God responds to all your thoughts and words with one word – ‘Tathasthu’ or ‘So be it’.” It is one of those stories that has stayed with me ever since. In essence, just as a happy thought is reciprocated with a ‘Tathasthu’, when we worry about something, we are repeatedly sending out energy to the creation of something we don’t want.

Affirmations and positive self talk play an important role in sending out positive energy into the Universe which is reciprocated by responses to our prayers. Some thoughts are more focused and are repeated more often. Some thoughts are put into writing and read over and over again. These gain more strength as they are released into the Universe.

The first step here is to become aware of our thoughts, words and actions. Once we are aware, we can make a conscious effort to replace negative thoughts with positive ones, find solutions and lessons to be learnt from difficult situations and use positive words such as ‘I want to succeed’ instead of ‘I don’t want to fail’. Such kind of positive self talk brings more positive energy into our lives.

The reason some of our prayers aren’t answered is that we ourselves are unsure about what we want or don’t have enough faith in the Universe to make it happen. On one hand, we pray for something to happen and on the other hand we worry about it. We want to perform well in the exam, but what if the paper is difficult. We want to propose marriage but what if we are turned down. The keyword is ‘Total Surrender’. When we surrender ourselves completely, we can see miracles happening in front of us every day. At this stage, we offer gratitude and acknowledge the little miracles that happen in our lives. Try this out and witness miracles happening every day. Witness prayers being answered every day.

“Sometimes the best thing you can do is not think, not wonder, not imagine, not obsess. Just breathe, and have faith that everything will work out for the best.”

One thought on “Prayer

  1. What I enjoyed most in this article is an interplay of ideas that I share, and ideas that I disagree with. I’ll try and break down my thoughts into sensible chunks. 🙂 Here goes!

    I too have heard the stories of the Gods and Tathasthu. However, my interpretation is a bit different. I believe that the story is meant to inspire positive thinking, that it is simply a metaphor than an explanation of reality.

    I do not have faith in a God, or in the Universe, but I have faith that beauty and purity, kindness and empathy, goodness, indeed, all that is right, and good and sweet can be brought to life with human will. I have faith that we can control only ourselves and that others will often surprise us, either for better, or for worse. Perhaps in the end, this amounts to the same thing. I believe that reason is the answer to insecurity, but perhaps there is a role for faith that I do not fully understand.

    I think Prayer too has a different purpose. It’s meant to put thoughts in our mind, and not outside it. After all, is the universe we all see not folded in the mind? The positivity, the beauty, and energy we put into our minds then results in actions that are in line with these thoughts via various mechanisms studied and unstudied.

    I believe also that neither the Universe nor God will answer our prayers, because there is no kind entity that watches over us. There are only humans, and we’ve to work together to sweeten the hostile world around us.

    I agree that it is sometimes best not to wonder, think, or obsess, but to just experience all that is reality, to enjoy, and accept things. To appreciate and not question, to surrender, to let go, and just be. 🙂

    All in all, I enjoyed the thoughts you shared. Do not think for a moment that my disagreement is a criticism, or that I think you’re wrong. No, that isn’t it at all.This is just me sharing my point of view, sharing the thoughts sparked from reading your wonderful post.

Leave a Reply

