My First Day at School !

During my school days, I had always complained about not being able to celebrate my birthday in school as my birthday always fell on a holiday.  Ironically, I started off as a school teacher on the day of my birthday. Yes, my first day at school was on my birthday. I was nervous and excited. It could either be a great day or a total disaster. I had spent the last few days cutting and coloring and cleaning to set the class up for my kids. It was a big day, a big transition not only for me but also for them. They were leaping from primary to secondary school. Yes it is a big thing ! I was was waiting for them in the classroom to welcome them with a smile on my face and open arms (this one, not literally).

DSCN4528

And yes, it was one of the best days ! I found an immediate connection with my kids. I know I fell in love with them the minute they stepped into the class. Day 1 was meant only to give out instructions and to bond with the students. And I think we did that perfectly. And that was when I knew for sure that I had made the right decision when I changed my line of work. I was reminded of a saying by Steve Jobs which went like this. “Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it.”

Beautiful thought, isn’t it?  This was the beginning of my beautiful journey as a teacher to some amazing kids who gave more meaning to my life !

3 thoughts on “My First Day at School !

  1. I loved how you decorated the class. It shows a dedication and commitment to what you do. Were you the homeroom/class-teacher for 6-A? The only thing on the board I might disagree with is the instruction that says, “Follow directions the first time they are given.” That’s because I think that to question everything is very important, and also because there can be so many problems following such instructions with military discipline unless you are trained for such things. Of course, it’s very efficient to make things work that way so you can teach the maximum amount in the classroom. All in all, I’m so glad that they got a teacher who cares so much about teaching. I hope you get back into a teaching role soon.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

